Meet Our Staff

Location

CARE is located at 109 Collegiate Loop, Tallahassee, FL 32306.

Our hours of operation include Monday to Friday 8am to 5pm with our CARE Lab offering extending hours Sunday to Thursday from 5 PM to 10 PM.  Hours subject to change during breaks.
about Lorem Ipsum

Communication

CARE's primary email address is care@fsu.edu. You can contact our primary office at 850-644-9699 or our Lab and Tutoring at 850-644-4928.

You can follow CARE via FSUCARE on Facebook or @CARE_FSU on Instagram and Twitter.  
about Lorem Ipsum

Staffing

CARE has approximately 125 employees to include full-time professionals, graduate and undergraduate student employees,  and part-time educators. 

Below is staff contact information and scheduling link for students meetings.  View our organizational chart.
about Lorem Ipsum

 

 

Department Leadership

Providing Vision and oversight for an Exceptional Center

The Center for Academic Retention and Enhancement (CARE) operates under the direction of Dr. DeOnte Brown, Assistant Dean and Director. The Leadership Team guides staff in executing CARE's core functions of creating college-going culture, promoting student development, and engaging in advocacy. The Leadership Team has approval authority related to all financial, human resources and programmatic matters. 

Dr. DeOnte Brown

Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Studies and Director of CARE

Contact About: Admissions (Summer Bridge), Alumni Engagement, Assessment, Campus or Corporate Partnerships, Donor Relations, Student Experience, Training Opportunities, or CARE Grant Appeals 

dtbrown@fsu.edu | Student Appointment

Lisa Jackson, MSW, LCSW

Senior Program Director of Academic Support and Engagement

Contact About: Academic Experience (Summer Bridge) Academic Partnerships, Basic Needs Insecurity (Food, Housing, etc.), Learning Disability Evaluation, Student Experience, or Student Requirements 

lisa.a.jackson@fsu.edu Student Appointment

Stacy Spencer, MHR

Program Director of Transition and Outreach Programs

Contact About: Campus Tours or Presentations, Campus and Community Outreach,  Co-Curricular Experiences (Summer Bridge), Major Programming, Student Experience, or Student Requirements 

srspencer@fsu.edu | Student Appointment

Administrative Staff

supports human resource, fiscal management, and service excellence

The Administrative Staff work collaboratively with all CARE staff to onboard new staff, track expenditures, and assist students or visitors in support of CARE's core functions. 

Jennifer Daniels

Human Resources Representative

Contact About: HR Paperwork and Policies, Hiring, Payroll, or Time Entry

jdaniels@fsu.edu

 

Gina Morgan

Administrative Associate

Contact About: Appointments with Leadership, Building Concerns/ Issues, General Department Questions, Purchasing, or Travel Related Expenses

gina.morgan@fsu.edu

Academic Support and Engagement

Prioritizing academic growth and achievement

CARE's Academic Support and Engagement Unit is led by Lisa Jackson, Senior Program Director. The Professional Staff within this unit provide academic advising, prepare students for graduate school, infuse academics into the residential experience, and provide comprehensive support services to students. 

Randi Hill, M.S

Academic Advisor

Contact About: Academic Maps, Course Schedules, Liberal Studies, or Major Exploration

rchill@fsu.eduStudent Appointment

Antoinette Williams

Graduate Assistant

Contact About: Academic Improvement Plans, Academic Success Workshops, or General Support

awilliams20@fsu.edu | Student Appointment

Jessica Williams, M.S

Academic Advisor

Contact About: Academic Maps, Course Schedules, Liberal Studies, or Major Exploration

jwilliams24@fsu.eduStudent Appointment

Dr. Tamara bertrand-Jones

Associate Professor, College of Education

Contact About: Bridge to Graduate School

tbertrand@fsu.edu

 

Brittany Brewster

Graduate Teaching and Research Assistant

Contact About: Bridge to Graduate School

bbrewster@fsu.edu

To Be Named

Faculty Director

Contact About: FGEN Noles Living-Learning Community; Until filled contact Lisa Jackson, Senior Program Director

 

 

To Be Named

Graduate Assistant

Contact About: FGEN Noles Living-Learning Community

dr. Frank Campos

Project Director, SSS - SCOPE 

Contact About: Eligibility, Services, or Policies related to SSS-SCOPE

fcampos@fsu.eduStudent Appointment

Jacourie Clark

Academic Coordinator 

Contact About: Academic Support, Workshops, or Engagement related to SSS-SCOPE

jcclark2@fsu.eduStudent Appointment

Keshann Corley

Academic Specialist

Contact About: Workshops or Engagement related to SSS-SCOPE

kcorley@fsu.edu | Student Appointment

Roxanne Simpson

 Project Director, SSS - STEM

Contact About: Eligibility, Services, or Policies related to SSS-STEM

rmsimpson@fsu.edu | Student Appointment

To Be Named

Academic Coordinator 

Contact About: Academic Support, Workshops, or Engagement related to SSS-STEM

 

JOY WRIGHT

Student Services Coordinator 

Contact About: Workshops or Engagement related to SSS-STEM

jwright3@fsu.edu

Dr. Fabian Tata

Assistant Director 

Contact About: Tutoring, Study Hours, Study Room Reservations

ftata@fsu.edu

 

TO BE NAMED

Coordinator, CARE Lab 

Contact About: Study Hours or Study Room Reservations

 

Caitlin Cates, MSW

Program Coordinator 

Contact About: Eligibility, Services, or Policies related to Unconquered Scholars Program

cmcates@fsu.eduStudent Appointment

Kennedy Gill

Graduate Assistant

Contact About: Research and engagement related to NextGen Noles (students with dependents - minors )

kgill@fsu.edu | Student Appointment

Ali Korber

Graduate Assistant

Contact About: Engagement related to Unconquered Scholars Program

akorber@fsu.edu | Student Appointment

Transition and Outreach 

promoting college access and Maximization of college experience

CARE's Transition and Outreach Unit is led by Stacy Spencer, Program Director. The professional staff within this unit empower middle/high school students to make college an option and serve as a resource for navigating college life from enrollment to graduation.

Toni Gadsden

College Life Coach

Contact About: Coaching appointments if this is your assigned coach.

tgadsden@fsu.edu

 

Jabari Grayson

Senior College Life Coach

Contact About: Coaching appointments if this is your assigned coach.

jdgrayson@fsu.edu

Jacqueline Hare

College Life Coach

Contact About: Coaching appointments if this is your assigned coach.

jlhare@fsu.edu

 

Stephanie Urbina

College Life Coach

Contact About: Coaching appointments if this is your assigned coach.

surbina@fsu.edu

TJ Callan

Graduate Assistant

Contact About: Alumni Engagement, Academic Clusters, Student Experience

acallan@fsu.edu

Alizea Howard

Financial Wellness Coordinator

Contact About: Financial Aid, Financial Literacy, Budgeting, or FAFSA support

khowar2@fsu.edu | Student Appointment

Osei Nyahuma

Academic Support Assistant

Contact About: General Concerns, Resource Referrals, Withdrawal Follow-up

onyahuma@fsu.edu

Arnez Wallace, M.S.

Assistant Director

Contact About: Summer Bridge Program Engagement, College Success Program, CARE Ambassadors, or TEAM Leaders

mawallace@fsu.edu | Student Appointment

Gen Ramirez

Graduate Assistant

Contact About: First-Generation student programming and student experience 

gvramirez@fsu.edu

Adarius Simpkins

Graduate Assistant

Contact About: College Success Program and student experience 

asimpkins@fsu.edu

LaKesha Brown

Project Director, Upward Bound

Contact About: Eligibility, Services, or Policies related to Upward Bound 

lrbrown@fsu.edu

to be named

Human Services Coordinator, Upward Bound 

Contact About: Mentoring, Workshops or Engagement related to Upward Bound

 

to be named

Academic Coordinator, Upward Bound 

Contact About: Academic Support, Workshops, or Engagement related to Upward Bound

title-inside title-centered
2