Meet Our Staff

Location

CARE is located at 109 Collegiate Loop, Tallahassee, FL 32306.

Our hours of operation include Monday to Friday 8am to 5pm with our CARE Lab offering extending hours Sunday to Thursday from 5 PM to 10 PM.  Hours subject to change during breaks.
about Lorem Ipsum

Communication

CARE's primary email address is care@fsu.edu. You can contact our primary office at 850-644-9699 or our Lab and Tutoring at 850-644-4928.

You can follow CARE via FSUCARE on Facebook or @CARE_FSU on Instagram and Twitter.  
about Lorem Ipsum

Staffing

CARE has approximately 125 employees to include full-time professionals, graduate and undergraduate student employees,  and part-time educators. 

Below is staff contact information and scheduling link for students meetings.  View our organizational chart.
about Lorem Ipsum

 

 

Department Leadership

Providing Vision and oversight for an Exceptional Center

The Center for Academic Retention and Enhancement (CARE) operates under the direction of Dr. DeOnte Brown, Assistant Dean and Director. The Leadership Team guides staff in executing CARE's core functions of creating college-going culture, promoting student development, and engaging in advocacy. The Leadership Team has approval authority related to all financial, human resources and programmatic matters. 

Dr. DeOnte Brown

Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Studies and Director of CARE

Contact About: Admissions (Summer Bridge), Alumni Engagement, Assessment, Campus or Corporate Partnerships, Donor Relations, Student Experience, Training Opportunities, or CARE Grant Appeals 

dtbrown@fsu.edu | Student Appointment

Lisa Jackson, MSW, LCSW

Senior Program Director of Academic Support and Engagement

Contact About: Academic Experience (Summer Bridge) Academic Partnerships, Basic Needs Insecurity (Food, Housing, etc.), Learning Disability Evaluation, Student Experience, or Student Requirements 

lisa.a.jackson@fsu.edu Student Appointment

Stacy Spencer, MHR

Program Director of Transition and Outreach Programs

Contact About: Campus Tours or Presentations, Campus and Community Outreach,  Co-Curricular Experiences (Summer Bridge), Major Programming, Student Experience, or Student Requirements 

srspencer@fsu.edu | Student Appointment

Administrative Staff

supports human resource, fiscal management, and service excellence

The Administrative Staff work collaboratively with all CARE staff to onboard new staff, track expenditures, and assist students or visitors in support of CARE's core functions. 

Jennifer Daniels

Human Resources Representative

Contact About: HR Paperwork and Policies, Hiring, Payroll, or Time Entry

jdaniels@fsu.edu

 

Gina Morgan

Administrative Associate

Contact About: Appointments with Leadership, Building Concerns/ Issues, General Department Questions, Purchasing, or Travel Related Expenses

gina.morgan@fsu.edu

Academic Support and Engagement

Prioritizing academic growth and achievement

CARE's Academic Support and Engagement Unit is led by Lisa Jackson, Senior Program Director. The Professional Staff within this unit provide academic advising, prepare students for graduate school, infuse academics into the residential experience, and provide comprehensive support services to students. 

To Be Selected

Academic Advisor

Contact About: Academic Maps, Course Schedules, Liberal Studies, or Major Exploration

 

Jessica Williams, M.S

Academic Advisor

Contact About: Academic Maps, Course Schedules, Liberal Studies, or Major Exploration

jwilliams24@fsu.eduStudent Appointment

TO BE Selected

Student Persistence Specialist

Contact About: Academic Resources, Academic Policies, Academic Difficulty or Support with Retention and Graduation 

 

Dr. Tamara bertrand-Jones

Associate Professor, College of Education

Contact About: Bridge to Graduate School

tbertrand@fsu.edu

Gabrielle Haggins

Graduate Teaching and Research Assistant

Contact About: Bridge to Graduate School

Austin McDonald

Instructional Specialist 1/ Faculty Director

Contact About: FGEN Noles Living-Learning Community; FGEN Faculty/ Staff Training

dr. Frank Campos

Project Director, SSS - SCOPE 

Contact About: Eligibility, Services, or Policies related to SSS-SCOPE

fcampos@fsu.eduStudent Appointment

Jacourie Clark

Academic Coordinator 

Contact About: Academic Support, Workshops, or Engagement related to SSS-SCOPE

jcclark2@fsu.eduStudent Appointment

KeIshann Corley

Academic Specialist

Contact About: Workshops or Engagement related to SSS-SCOPE

kcorley@fsu.edu | Student Appointment

Roxanne Simpson

 Project Director, SSS - STEM

Contact About: Eligibility, Services, or Policies related to SSS-STEM

rmsimpson@fsu.edu | Student Appointment

Kimberley Muir

Academic Coordinator 

Contact About: Academic Support, Workshops, or Engagement related to SSS-STEM

 

JOY WRIGHT

Student Services Coordinator 

Contact About: Workshops or Engagement related to SSS-STEM

jwright3@fsu.edu

Dr. Fabian Tata

Assistant Director 

Contact About: Tutoring, Study Hours, Study Room Reservations

ftata@fsu.edu

 

TO BE Selected

Academic Support Coordinator

Contact About: Academic Resources, Study Hours or Study Room Reservations

 

Caitlin Cates, MSW

Program Manager 

Contact About: Eligibility, Services, or Policies related to Unconquered Scholars Program

cmcates@fsu.eduStudent Appointment

 

Kathleen Swift

Graduate Assistant

Contact About: Engagement related to Unconquered Scholars Program

Transition and Outreach 

promoting college access and Maximization of college experience

CARE's Transition and Outreach Unit is led by Stacy Spencer, Program Director. The professional staff within this unit empower middle/high school students to make college an option and serve as a resource for navigating college life from enrollment to graduation.

Toni Gadsden

College Life Coach

Contact About: Coaching appointments if this is your assigned coach.

tgadsden@fsu.edu

Jabari Grayson

Senior College Life Coach

Contact About: Coaching appointments if this is your assigned coach.

jdgrayson@fsu.edu

Jacqueline Hare

College Life Coach

Contact About: Coaching appointments if this is your assigned coach.

jlhare@fsu.edu

 

Stephanie Urbina

College Life Coach

Contact About: Coaching appointments if this is your assigned coach.

surbina@fsu.edu

 

TO BE Selected

Student Engagement Specialist

Contact About: QUEST Scholars Program and College Transition Support

TO BE Selected

Student Engagement Specialist

Contact About: Student Networks and Outreach Team (O-Team)

 

Randi Hill, M.S.

Graduate Assistant

Contact About: Student Wellbeing, Take CARE Initiative

 

Alizea Howard

Financial Wellness Coordinator

Contact About: Financial Aid, Financial Literacy, Budgeting, or FAFSA support

khowar2@fsu.edu | Student Appointment

Osei Nyahuma

Academic Support Assistant

Contact About: General Concerns, Resource Referrals, Withdrawal Follow-up

onyahuma@fsu.edu

Arnez Wallace, M.S.

Assistant Director

Contact About: Summer Bridge Program Engagement, College Success Program, CARE Ambassadors, or TEAM Leaders

mawallace@fsu.edu | Student Appointment

Gen Ramirez

Graduate Assistant

Contact About: First-Generation student programming and student experience 

gvramirez@fsu.edu

Adarius Simpkins

Graduate Assistant

Contact About: College Success Program and student experience 

asimpkins@fsu.edu

Dary Felix

Graduate Assistant

Contact About: Alumni Engagement and Upperclass Student Experience

lrbrown@fsu.edu

 

To Be Selected

Project Director, Upward Bound - Jackson

Contact About: Eligibility, Services, or Policies related to Upward Bound (In interim contact Stacy Spencer, srspencer@fsu.edu)

 

 

To Be Selected

Pre-Collegiate Specialist

Contact About: Academic Support, Workshops, or Engagement related to Upward Bound

 

LaKesha Brown

Project Director, Upward Bound - Gadsden

Contact About: Eligibility, Services, or Policies related to Upward Bound 

lrbrown@fsu.edu

D'Vodrek Ponder

Human Services Coordinator, Upward Bound - Gadsden

Contact About: Mentoring, Workshops or Engagement related to Upward Bound

 

Jennifer CoRtorreal

Academic Coordinator, Upward Bound - Gadsden

Contact About: Academic Support, Workshops, or Engagement related to Upward Bound

 

title-inside title-centered
2